F.B. Wiebusch Award for Excellence in Periodontics

F.B. Wiebusch Award for Excellence in Periodontics

Dr. F.B. Wiebusch taught for 30 years at the VCU School of Dentistry, where he was chair of the Department of Periodontics and assistant dean for continuing education and alumni affairs.

Dr. Llewellyn Flippen, a 1958 graduate of the MCV School of Dentistry, established the fund in 2000 to honor Wiebusch, who retired from the school faculty in the early 1990s.

The periodontics faculty chooses the recipient of this annual award based on the student’s successful completion of all degree requirements, the demonstration of strong academic achievement and concern for patients. In addition, the scholarship winner must possess high moral and ethical standards.


  • Deserving, graduating dental student from the school’s undergraduate program in periodontics
  • Completed all degree requirements
  • Demonstrated strong academic achievement
  • Demonstrated concern for the best interest of patients
  • High moral and ethical standards

Get to know our scholarship recipients

Click each name to find out what excites our students about becoming dental professionals.